Afghan 35 – Quilt Block Flowers

It has been so long since I have finished an afghan.  That daggone Textured Bands has made me lose a lot of interest in crocheting at all.  Another one that has taken me a very long time is the Quilt Block Flowers afghan.  It wasn’t a problem of crocheting this one.  It was the fact that all the pieces must be sewn together after being crocheted.  I know how to sew.  I’m just not good at it.  The way it looks when I sew is similar to the way it looks when I hand a ball of yarn to a cat, but with thread.

Since I am no expert at sewing, I took my pieces to my granny.  She took a while to sew all those pieces.  I had to threaten her a few times to get it done.  (As much as I could respectfully threaten my granny over an afghan.)  It took almost a year for her to finish.  When she did I realized that I was supposed to crochet edge pieces and then sew those onto it!  Instead I just slip stitched while I was working on those.

The colors I used were Black, Thyme, Light Sage, Bright Yellow, and Pale Yellow.  As usual, I decided to avoid the white background.

colors

Since it has taken so long for me to finish this, I can’t find my pictures I took along the way.  I always take pictures with my phone.  Having destroyed my phone I lost all my pictures that were on it.  Here’s what I do have.

The individual blocks looked pretty much like this.

The individual blocks looked pretty much like this.

one cluster of blocks

one cluster of blocks

This is the complete afghan in its entirety.

full afghan

This gives a better look at how the pattern looks.

pattern closeup

edging flower

edging flower

Even though I cheated on the edging, I think it looks just fine.  It will probably stay together better.  I trust the strength of yarn more than thread.

Now I just need to figure out what to do with this one.  I love the way it turned out!  It took way too much effort to give it to just anyone.  First I’ll have to see if anyone else likes it as much as I do.

2 comments on “Afghan 35 – Quilt Block Flowers

  1. it looks great! I love the colors and I would like to have a poncho with this pattern :o)

  2. fiveboysmom says:

    Very nice. Congratulations on finishing it. It would probably take me 10 years or more if I even attempted this one. Too many little pieces.

Leave a comment