Granny’s book – Buffalo Plaid

A while back my dad sent me a box full of his mom’s patterns and a couple of afghans.  My daughter instantly claimed the afghans.  I get to see them once in a while to wash them.  Her bedroom tends to be a black hole for afghans, though.  She asks if she can have just about every afghan that I don’t already have a plan to give to someone else.  Sometimes she’ll still ask if I’ll make another one like that for her.  I would gladly make as many for her as she wants, but she would not have room for anything else if I did.

One of the pattern books that he sent to me was this one.  It’s another book titled “A Year of Afghans.”  The other ones I’ve seen are Book 1, Book 2, and Book 3.  This one is simply “1997.”  Also it’s a hard back book instead of soft back like the others.  It is a Leisure Arts book like the others.

book

One of the best parts of this book is there are some pages where she used paper to save her place.  She wrote her shopping list for those afghans, so I know what color she was using for them!

I decided to do the Buffalo Plaid pattern from this book for a teacher gift.  It is one that uses two strands of yarn at a time, so it’s very heavy and warm.  With that in mind it takes a surprisingly small amount of yarn to make.  The book did it in black and red.  That looked great, but I went with the school’s red and grey.

One of the reasons I chose this pattern is that it looked so easy.  The pattern was simple to do, but each of the squares looked deformed while I was working on it.

square

The pattern is almost like a simplified granny square.  As easy as those are, you can imagine how easy this was.  The hardest part was doing the two strands and using a Q hook.  It’s hard for me to keep the tension the same doing that.

close up

Although it feels like this thing is HUGE, it does just fit my queen size bed.

full afghan

The only thing that looks really bad about this afghan is the back.  Since I refuse to do whipstitch when I feel like I can get away with slip stitching blocks together, that’s what I did.  It would probably work better in a smaller gauge.  It’s very visible in this.  It is hard enough to see it due to the colors matching that I was fine with doing this.

back

This is one of those afghans that Willow has asked that I make another one for her.

2 comments on “Granny’s book – Buffalo Plaid

  1. fiveboysmom says:

    That’s so neat that you have your Granny’s bookmarks and notes. Congratulations.

    Now I’m going to have to look for this one. (Addicted!) There is a Book 4 but it only has 49 afghans in it. (sigh)

    How big are the squares? It doesn’t look big enough to have been done with a Q.

    Very nice!

Leave a Reply

