Afghan 3 of 2 – Toasty Earth Tones

My Toasty Earth Tones  does not suit the title at all.  When I asked Josh what he thought of this pattern he said, “Yay, another ripple,” with a complete lack of enthusiasm.  Yes, I’ve been doing too many ripples lately.  They just work so well for school colors!

I like that this one is made so the edges of each color are interlocking with the next.

close up

There was an error in this pattern.  It said to continue repeating these rows so many times.  The last row of each color is double crochets and chains leaving openings for the next color to drop down into it.  This means that the last row of the afghan would have these spaces all across it.  It is clear from the pictures that this is not how it is intended to be done.  The should have finished with repeating the center rows a third time for the last color.  This is what I did.

fringe

I love that this pattern leaves an opening at each point for attaching the fringe!  It looks nicer and doesn’t make me feel like I need to add thick fringe all across like I did for Spring Ripple.

photo (1)

The finished product is nice.  I just wish I could figure out a way to wash afghans with fringe without them coming out as frayed messes.

Full afghan

3 comments on “Afghan 3 of 2 – Toasty Earth Tones

  1. fiveboysmom says:

    Washing fringe–ugh. Just one more reason why I don’t like fringe. I tend to ask myself–does it really NEED fringe. And then I don’t add fringe.

    • knitwit1980 says:

      I typically leave the fringe off if I’m keeping it for myself. Even if it didn’t get messed up in the laundry some animal would decide to chew on it, or it would just annoy me by being in my face.

      • fiveboysmom says:

        Yeah, it’s that being in my face that really annoys me that keeps me from making fringe–and the time it takes to do it.

        This one is beautiful, by the way.

Leave a Reply

