Afghan 36 – Tantalizingly Teal

I’ve made a lot of progress on this year’s teacher Christmas gifts.  I’m now trying to figure out which teachers will be getting one.  Since Willow started middle school this year I don’t know if I want to give each of both of the kids’ teachers an afghan.  Jarrett still has the three regular teachers.  He also has the music, PE, and computer teachers who are with the kids for all of elementary school.  The PE and computer teachers will teach them again in middle school, but the music teacher may not teach them again.  Willow has five teachers this year.  She and Jarrett will both have those same teachers next year.  If I give one to the six elementary teachers this year and wait until next year to give the sixth and seventh grade teachers afghans, I’ll give the eighth grade teachers theirs when Willow is in eighth grade.  I am thinking that would be the easiest way to do it, but Willow seems like she might be getting her feelings hurt if she doesn’t get to give any this year.  If that’s true, then I’ll be giving all of their teachers afghans this year.  I’ll try to do all of the regular teachers plus the three “once a week” teachers, but that would be eleven afghans to finish.  Currently I have six done.  (I need to get a few posted.)  If I skip the extra three I’ll only need to make two more.  Maybe I can get those teachers later?  Maybe I should think about this much earlier in the year.

 

Tantalizingly Teal is a very simple pattern.  I thought about doing the afghan all grey with red fringe or all red with grey fringe.  When I asked the kids which they thought would be better they said they wanted me to mix the two.  It’s an afghan that you have to hold to strands of yarn together while making it, so it’s one of each.  The similar pattern along with using the same colors makes this look very much like Rich Heather.

afghan

I don’t know if you can see the difference in stitches between the two, but I promise it’s there!

Tantalizingly Teal

Tantalizingly Teal

Rich Heather

Rich Heather

I do like the size of this one better than Rich Heather.  The length on Rich Heather was my fault.  I kept going until I ran out of yarn required in the pattern.  The width is from the pattern, though.

Tantalizingly Teal is sized perfectly to fit my queen size bed.

full afghan

I did only use red yarn in the Rich Heather afghan while I mixed red and grey in the fringe as well as the whole body of Tantalizingly Teal.  I think I like the solid red better.  Too much mixing kind of overdoes it.  I think these patterns are favorites around here.  They’re both big and heavy.  Perfect for cuddling up on the couch on these cold nights!

Leave a Reply

