Afghan 2 of 2 – Sunrise Ripple

Once again I have used a pattern from Book 2.  I’m at the point where there are very few afghans left in Book 1 using two or three colors that I feel are easy enough to make Christmas gifts for the kids’ teachers.  When it gets to November and I’m still working on Christmas gifts I need to do easy ones so I don’t stress about getting them finished in time.

I got the chance to spend a lot of time in the truck with my husband on a road trip, so I spent that time working on this afghan.  I realized that I don’t know whether the furbabies or my yarn is worse for shedding on my clothes.

leg yarn

I’ve noticed that several of the patterns in Book 2 are named for the colors in them.  Since I don’t use the same colors as the book, the titles don’t make sense.  The book used two shades of blue and yellow to look like the sun in the sky.  It has a nice effect, but I needed to do school colors.  I know the names don’t matter at all for the afghans, it’s just different seeing so many in this book named this way when it wasn’t like that in Book 1.

full

I like the overall look of this.  I’m not used to doing a ripple pattern quite like this one, so I feel that close up I could have done a better job with my tension.  It seems like it’s more open than I had expected.

close up

This is one of the afghans that makes me appreciate that the recipients tend to be much less critical of my work than I am.

 

The reason my husband and I went on a road trip was to get a “new” car.  Josh found a 1949 Chevrolet Styleline Deluxe.  When we were dating there was a 1950 model near where we live for sale.  I wanted that car so bad, but at the time we didn’t have enough money to buy it.  I could hardly believe it when he told me about this car!  It does need a lot of work, but it’s ours!

1949 Chevy

I’m so looking forward to getting work done on this project.

 

4 comments on “Afghan 2 of 2 – Sunrise Ripple

  1. Arnaldo Trabucco says:

    Reblogged this on Donald Sonn Blog.

  2. fiveboysmom says:

    Beautiful! I wish I liked making ripples. And congratulations on the car!

    • knitwit1980 says:

      I don’t know that I really like making ripples as much as they’re usually easy to make. Since the pattern just repeats so much it’s easy to do while paying more attention to other things.

      • fiveboysmom says:

        I just can’t seem to get the beginning and ending of the rows right on a ripple. They look fine but the number of stitches just never matches the pattern.

        Do you ever wonder how many patterns you have memorized? I do. Especially when I start one I’ve done before and it’s all back within a row or two.

Leave a Reply

