Afghan 32 – Baby-Soft Granny

I have not been on here in far too long.  That stupid slip stitch afghan made me want to put down my yarn and give up crocheting for a while.  That’s what I did.  I was about a quarter of the way through that afghan when I set it aside.  I picked it up a few weeks later and couldn’t remember which row I had done last.  I ended up taking the whole thing apart and haven’t gone back to it, yet.

I decided to work on the granny square baby afghan.  It’s a much smaller project to get back into crocheting after getting so irritated by the previous project.  Plus, I change colors a lot which will keep my interest in it.

I also have a couple of great reasons for working on baby afghans!  One of my cousins will be welcoming a little girl in March.  I also have a friend who will be having a little boy in April.  The afghan I’m working on now that I’ve finished Baby-Soft Granny is for the boy.

I was supposed to use sport weight yarn for these afghans.  I’ve realized that I don’t have enough respect for the recommended yarn weight for afghans when it’s not worsted weight.  I chose to use Hobby Lobby’s I Love This Cotton.  It’s a little bit thicker and heavier than sport weight but not as heavy as worsted weight.  This meant that I ended up needing more yarn than I had originally planned, and the afghan is probably bigger than the book had intended.  It still works great as a baby afghan.  I just really like cotton.  Who doesn’t?

The colors I used were White, Sage, Royalty, Rosy, and Pewter.  The white was used as the background.  I had intended to put the Rosy and Pewter together and the Royalty and Sage together.  When I started somehow I confused myself reading the pattern, and the colors switched partners.

colors

The finished product is similar to an Around The World pattern in quilter pattern language.

full

I like that the edging is left without making a straight line to smooth it out.

edge

It’s so delicate and sweet looking that I can’t wait to give this afghan away!

I’m really hoping to get some more work done soon.  Last week I received a parcel from my dad that had two afghans his mom had made and a bunch of her old patterns.  I can’t wait to work with them!  I’ll post pictures of her afghans in a future post.  I would try to include them in this one, but my daughter immediately claimed them, and they are currently in her bed.

4 comments on “Afghan 32 – Baby-Soft Granny

  1. fiveboysmom says:

    Lovely! I love the colors for a boy. Cotton is such a nice yarn for spring and summer babies.

    And welcome back!

    • knitwit1980 says:

      Thanks! On top of my problem of crochet break, I had some technical difficulties. I got blocked out of my email (I did get that fixed), my WordPress app on my phone permanently froze, and the phone I use for taking pictures fell out of my pocket while I was getting out of my car. The screen was shattered. Today I got a new one, so hopefully the app will work better on this phone anyway!

      • fiveboysmom says:

        Heaven’s to Betsy! That’s a lot to have happen. Hopefully this one will work well for a long time. And I’m really sorry you ripped out all that work on the other one. Do you intend to make that one some day or just continue with the rest?

  2. knitwit1980 says:

    I’ll get back to it someday. I just needed a break.

Leave a Reply

