Off topic

I know this blog is usually about afghans or crochet, but I need to post about something completely unrelated this one time.

Back in May of 2012, my sister was babysitting my kids.  They were playing in the backyard.  Kids being kids, they were in and out of the house several times.  One of those times the door was left open.  Our pug, Oliver, got out and we never saw him again.  Leonidas, our mastiff, nearly mourned himself to death.  He wouldn’t eat, drink, or go outside for a week.  He was taking toys and leaving them at the door where Oliver ran out.

We did everything we could think of to find Oliver.  We posted on Facebook, Craigslist, the local newspaper…  We checked at local shelters and called around to veterinarians and groomers.  Oliver had a microchip, so after a while we realized someone must have seen a valuable dog to use as a stud and had no intention of giving him back.  (Oliver is AKC registered, but even without papers pug puppies can be quite expensive.)

Yesterday, I got a call that I had completely given up on ever getting.  I was told that Oliver had been found!  We got the information and went to meet with the people who had him.  Apparently that morning he showed up at their house.  Being decent, honest people they cleaned him up and took him straight to the pet store to have him scanned.  (Since it was Sunday a pet store is probably one of the only places where dogs can get scanned to check for microchips.)  I couldn’t believe it when I heard the news.  Tears of joy have barely stopped flowing.

got him

We just got him!  Since I had to leave town for work the same day it was only fair that I got to hold him on the way home.  He seems mostly healthy, although he’s terribly skinny.  I’m sure that won’t be a problem for long.  Sometime while he was on his grand adventure he was neutered.  At least we got that done for free!  It just would have been nice if the vet he saw at that time would have scanned him and found his microchip.  Since he’s home now, I’m not too concerned about that.

Rikki, our little girl pug, had not met Oliver.  She joined our family after he was gone in part to heal Leonidas’s heart. (It worked.)  She has been his shadow ever since he got home.

pugs

I tried to get a picture of Leonidas reuniting with his long lost buddy.  I’m pretty sure they recognized each other.  All the pictures of these two are just a blur.  Check out the tail action!

blur buddies

Shortly after this I had to leave.  Josh sent me one more picture for the evening to let me know he was still doing okay.

sleepy pug

I’m just going to have to make an afghan for him!

I am so looking forward to going home this weekend!  After our experience, I would ask that anyone who learns of our story to please urge your veterinarian and any animal related business you know to scan all animals for a microchip.  While whoever had him neutered must have had the best of intentions for him, there was a family missing him terribly for two and a half years.  Even though we never expected to see him again, we often wondered where he was and if he was safe.  It’s such an awful feeling not knowing these things about anyone you love.  We are so thankful for those honest people in this world!

8 comments on “Off topic

  1. fiveboysmom says:

    Congratulations!!!

  2. It’s so great that Oliver is back. Sometimes miracles happen and this is really a miracle. Please give Oliver a big hug from me :o)

  3. I’m sharing this because it is one of those super awesome reunion stories that people need to hear about. 😉 Talk about a heart warmer. Love this!

  4. fiveboysmom says:

    Happy Thanksgiving. Miss your posts.

  5. fiveboysmom says:

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to your whole family!

Leave a Reply

