$&@! sl st

I’m working on the Textured Bands afghan. I have never been so tempted to quit crocheting forever. This thing is row after row of slip stitch! I’ve always considered slip stitch to be for joining only. I know it can be used for other things, but I never have used it for anything else.

IMG_0704.JPG

Is it just me, or can anyone else see a Dalek in this part of the pattern? (I doubt this one’s ever seen the birth of a star.)

I’ve just realized how horrible my phone is for taking pictures. I’m wearing grey pants that you can see in this picture look blue. The afghan is in Crafter’s Secret’s Brisbane Brown.

There is a good side to all this slip stitch. It does require me to pay more attention to the tension I use. I usually pull my slip stitches tight. (Remember I’m used to using them to join or finish off.) If I do that in this pattern it makes it a lot more difficult to get my hook in the stitch on the next row. Since I’m using so much sl st, this will probably take about another 50 years to finish this giant afghan.

One comment on “$&@! sl st

  1. fiveboysmom says:

    Slip stitches? Well, crumb! I wanted to make this one someday. It looks like the Fisherman’s crochet that I love.

    FYI, Snowballs is ALL slip stitches and puff stitches. Made it once–NEVER AGAIN!

    Praying for you.

Leave a Reply

