Snuggles Project

The afghan I am currently working on is going to take me FOREVER to finish. My husband chose the colors. It is going to be his afghan. I have never before allowed a person to tell me how to make one, and after this experience, I never will again. It is currently in the aggravation corner while I talk myself into picking it up to work on it again.

While I am dealing with this frustration, I still want to be productive. I was given some yarn for Christmas that I didn’t know how I would use it. The yarn is Red Heart’s Mexicana. It is a rainbow variegated yarn. I was given two skeins of it. Typically I avoid variegated yarns. They cost the same as single color yarns, but come in smaller amounts, so they’re more expensive in the end. You can’t control how the finished product will look. This can be a good thing. I tend to need to control everything (see the opening paragraph), so it’s just not my normal yarn.

Thanks to the snow and my hatred for cold, I have spent a lot of time on the internet. I was on Pinterest more than anyone should be trying to figure out something to do with this Mexicana yarn. Finally I went to the Red Heart website to see if I could find a project they had used it for in one of their free patterns. Once there I got sidetracked. (Big surprise, right?)

I found a place where I could use my yarn! Not just this yarn, but any yarn that I can’t figure out a perfect pattern for it. There is a group where you can donate your afghans, and the recipients don’t even care how they look. They can feel and smell the love that went into making them! That’s all that matters to this group!

If you haven’t heard of it, the group I found is called the Snuggles Project. You have to read the guidelines for the group to understand everything, and I’m still getting familiar with it. I’m just very excited to have found the group. You make your afghans-crochet, knit, sew, whatever-and contact a participating rescue group. They give the blankets to cats and dogs in shelters to help comfort them while they wait for forever homes.

I have decided to try to make an afghan for this group whenever I get in a funk with my own challenge. (It’s now just to try to get through that book before I die, so I SHOULD have plenty of time.) The first one I made with the Mexicana and some leftover purple for an edging. I just did a single granny square, since I didn’t know how much I would be able to make. For the edging I did a round of single crochet followed by a round of half double crochet.

Sure to brighten someone's day!

Sure to brighten someone’s day!

I still don’t have any other ideas of how this yarn would be used. It’s a lot of bright.

Of course, I had to have Miss Rikki model it. We discussed what it was for, and although she loves it, she has given her permission to give it to a puppy without a family to cuddle.

Eye can't believe there are puggies out there with no one to cuddle!

Eye can’t believe there are puggies out there with no one to cuddle!

4 comments on “Snuggles Project

  1. Dotti Harris says:

    I love your post! Hahaha! Welcome to the Snuggles Project – it’s been very rewarding for me to help those lonely animals in this way. Blessings to you as you bless the orphans!

  2. fiveboysmom says:

    My cousin is a dog rescuer in Memphis. The time she puts in to rescuing, caring for and cleaning up after puppies is amazing. At one time she had her own dogs, a Dogs on Deployment dog, a nursing mother with 12 puppies and two other litters of puppies totaling 27 puppies and 4 large dogs. Those puppies and the mother have gone on to their forever homes but she now has another litter or two in her home. My cats are especially partial to the Rich Heather pattern for sleeping but they’ll take anything once it’s been kneeded enough.

    I don’t know what you would do with Mexicana either and I LOVE variegated yarns. I just love all the color they bring to a project. Mexicana just defies my sensibility.

Leave a Reply

