Afghan 23 – Victorian Throw

I think I might officially be the world’s worst blogger. Not only did I not finish the challenge I made for myself, but I haven’t kept up on my blog with the afghans I have finished. I’ve got one afghan that has been nearly finished since mid-November, but it requires tassels so I haven’t finished that part. It has made me realize that I hate tassels. Fringe is no problem, but tassels were probably designed by the devil.

Victorian Throw is one of the afghans that has been in my closet for a while, but due to a local yarn shortage last year I wasn’t able to finish it quickly.

Remember this?

Remember this?

I did get it finished just before Christmas. It is beautiful! It is just big enough to cover my queen size bed, so I couldn’t get a good picture of the whole thing.
full
I like that it didn’t make the ends straight across. That makes it a little more interesting.

close up
I love the filet style pattern! I think this would look best thrown across the back of someone’s couch. Since it is made with so many holes, it’s not really the warmest afghan. It would keep you warm, but it seems to be a more sophisticated style than the ones I like to use to wrap up in. I just don’t see this one on a porch. (That’s the perfect place for afghans.) Since I chose to make this in Soft Navy, it looks best on a light background. If I had tried to photograph it on my dark couch, you wouldn’t be able to see the pattern at all.

I may have failed at my challenge, but I certainly can’t call 2013 a failure for myself. I did the best I could with what was available. I have a good start on several afghans and plan to finish all the patterns in the book as soon as I can. I am happy to say that I have been able to celebrate many joys with my family throughout the year. My kids had successes of their own, and they are proud of the afghans I have made for them and as gifts from them. I started a dream job working for a company I love where I get to travel and meet new people all the time. We’ll just see where 2014 takes us.

2 comments on “Afghan 23 – Victorian Throw

  1. It’s absolutely fabulous, for that’s really a masterpiece!

  2. fiveboysmom says:

    All things considered, I think you’re doing a marvelous job! And the blue really does make this one gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

