Afghan 20 – Fourth of July Fanfare

I really need to get better about updating this blog. I’m hoping my husband will get me something with a keyboard, because it’s not a lot of fun to blog from an iPhone. I would get one myself, but I would have no clue what to get and would end up just buying whatever’s cheapest.

Anyway, a lot has happened. I lost my aunt to cancer. I can’t even talk about it. I was out of town for work during the visitation and funeral. My husband knew I was very sad. There was a fat-tail gecko at our local pet store. He went and got the gecko for me! When I got home I had a new baby to cuddle!

20131214-202604.jpg
His name is Liir, and he loves me. If he’s not cuddling on my neck, he’s resting on my heart.

20131214-202716.jpg
He always comes out to see me when I get home and has a smile ready for me.

Back to the afghan… Fourth of July Fanfare was easy to switch to the colors I wanted to use. I only really changed from blue to gray, so I didn’t need to think about which color I would switch for which. The edging was the only part of the pattern that confused me. It said not to turn and to work from left to right. I thought, “Why not turn it and work right to left?” I decided to go ahead and follow the directions. It did make a big difference with the way the yarn came across itself as I worked.

20131215-000237.jpg
That does look a lot different than a regular hdc.

The pattern was simple but looks nice. I’ll probably make another one sometime. The only problem with this is that it’s short. The finished length is 55″. It wouldn’t be hard to make it longer. The edging does have a stitch count, but it was too hard for me to space them evenly. It wouldn’t have been really difficult, but more effort than it was worth. With this pattern it worked out well anyway.

20131215-000851.jpg

20131215-000911.jpg

2 comments on “Afghan 20 – Fourth of July Fanfare

  1. fiveboysmom says:

    So sorry about the loss of your aunt. Mine are all gone now and I miss them all terribly.

    The edging on this one is a bit puzzling but it makes a nice binding that fits with the 4th of July theme. I’ve found it on one other project but I can’t remember which right now. My 4th son was due on the 5th of July so I made this one for him. He kind of likes the 4th of July theme for his birthday.

    • knitwit1980 says:

      My son’s birthday is July 5th! I once made a quilt for him with patriotic fabrics. I used pictures from patriotic coloring books for the pattern to quilt it. Sadly, he let’s his mastiff sleep with him and the quilt is no more.

Leave a Reply

