Afghan 14 – Evergreens in Autumn

I finished this afghan more than a week ago but haven’t had time to post about it. I can’t believe how busy I’ve been!

I used the same red and grey as I used in the Rustic Ripple afghan. I figure that since the color in this pattern (they used red and green) is supposed to represent evergreen trees amongst those that have red leaves in the autumn season, I can say these colors represent footballs. Maybe you need to squint your eyes until they’re closed and just pretend.

20130912-165208.jpg

Here’s a picture of the edging.

20130912-165247.jpg
You can totally see footballs, right? (At least as much as a green version would look like trees?)

Anyway, this kind of has a similar effect as that of houndstooth. It’s a nice pattern, but too much of it can give you a headache. I’m going to let the kids pick which teacher gets which afghan. I’m kind of hoping they give this one to the mean teacher. (Out of all my teachers I had as a child the only one who hasn’t retired is the mean one.). I’m just spiteful like that!

Since I have been driving a lot for work, I get to bring my yarn with me and crochet in the evenings! It’s just too bad I don’t have a driver to let me crochet during those long rides. I did get a new car! It’s the first time I’ve ever bought a brand new car for myself. I can’t believe I own a 2014 car. Sadly, five hours after I signed the papers on it I let my husband drive it. About a mile from our house he hit a deer. It’s not really all that bad. I think the deer even laughed as he ran away. I will have another new experience in November, though. I plan on going deer hunting.

20130912-170127.jpg
This is in my front yard. They absolutely don’t mind people being around at all. I would feel like a Disney princess if I weren’t thinking of getting a gun!

One last thing I want to share is a picture I snapped while driving on my most recent trip. Are you planning a party?

20130912-170444.jpg

2 comments on “Afghan 14 – Evergreens in Autumn

  1. fiveboysmom says:

    Ironically, I’ve been working on this pattern as well. I’m making it in coffee and turqua as a wedding present for a great-nephew and his wife. I had to completely start over because I’m having trouble keeping the tension even. The first one turned out almost shaped like a rhombus. I’m half finished with the second one but I have to check it every fourth row to make sure it’s square. Did you have any problems with it or is it just me?

    So sorry about your car. I have deer that would come right up to the house were the dog not here.

    Isn’t there always one mean teacher who just won’t retire no matter what?

    Good luck with your hunt.

    • knitwit1980 says:

      I didn’t notice trouble with the tension. It’s probably because I approached it like I didn’t care about it. I figure that I’ll get through it, and if it doesn’t work out I’ll undo it and start over!

      One of my dogs usually does scare the deer away. She just has some sort of arrangement with the little one that snacks on our apple tree.

Leave a Reply

