Afghan 13 – Rustic Ripple

If you read this, you may have noticed I haven’t been posting much for a while. Well, I do have a good reason. Recently I started a sort of new job. I worked for this company for 4 years until last year. I loved that job, but I had to leave it late last year. This summer I was able to go back to the same job with a promotion! Now I get to travel and do the job I love!

I couldn’t be happier with the job. I love traveling. I miss my family terribly, but I’m home on weekends so I’m mostly able to enjoy their off time. Other than that, my only problem with traveling is that when I fly I don’t have a lot of room for yarn in my luggage. Since I can’t crochet as much as I’d like, I don’t think I’ll be completing my challenge this year. I will continue to work on it. I want to make every afghan in this book at some point just to know I can.

Anyway…I decided that I should go ahead and start working on gifts for my kids’ school teachers. This year they are back in a brick and mortar school. I don’t know if the teachers like it or not, but I like to make their gifts using the school’s colors. If they don’t like them, at least it makes them easy to regift!

Prior to my kids going to this school, these colors would have been banned in my house. Since my husband and son are Michigan fans, we don’t have a lot of scarlet and grey around. Unfortunately, those are the colors for the new school.

20130828-220517.jpg

I used white, Cherry Red, and Charcoal Grey. This is how they turned out:

20130828-220744.jpg

There will probably be at least 5 more in these colors before Christmas. Each of my kids has 3 teachers.

2 comments on “Afghan 13 – Rustic Ripple

  1. fiveboysmom says:

    Beautiful! It just happens that our high school colors are red and white so this would work well here. Most of our teachers do some sort of coaching so they do have a lot of red and white around. I could have done an entire load of red clothes when my sons were in high school.

    I don’t know how you manage to travel without yarn. I’d be leaving clothes and shoes at home to get my yarn in the bag.

Leave a Reply

