Afghan 12 – Summer Favorite

I absolutely love the way this afghan turned out!

The book’s idea of this afghan did not impress me.
book
If you like decorating with watermelons, I’m sure this would be great! I just don’t personally know anyone who does, so this wouldn’t really work in any other style. I knew I wanted a black background and bright colors for this. I was happy to find the I Love This Yarn! Neons. I hadn’t planned on using so many colors, but it was more fun collecting different colors to get the amount of yarn I needed than to buy the right amount of three different colors.

As soon as I made the first motif for this afghan, I knew I would love it! It just kept getting better as I added to it.
pieces
I intended to have the center color going outward as I moved along. It was going to end up with the whole afghan in a spiral look. It didn’t quite turn out like that. Due to the blocking of the afghan, you really can’t tell I was going for a spiral look. The fact that I tried that gave it a random layout look. I have never been able to make a pattern look random. This worked out pretty well.
finished

The finished afghan has several mistakes. Saturday morning I woke up at 7 a.m. to go to work. When I got home around 8 I started working on this afghan. My husband said he thought I could finish it before I went to bed. (I was about half way through it at this point.) As everyone else in my family went to bed I stayed up sure I could finish it soon, because he had faith in me. I never even felt tired, I was so into my work. My husband’s alarm went off at 5 a.m. the next day. As he came to the living room bleary-eyed I sat smiling while I worked away. It was time to wake up our daughter and take her lambs to the fair. I was still working on the fill in motifs. I packed up my yarn, and off we went!

We arrived at the fair barn with the lambs weighing in at 131 lbs. and 132 lbs. We had been worried, because one of them had hit the weight limit (140 lbs.) a couple of times and we had to get him to lose a little so he wouldn’t go over the limit. It all worked out fine. After they were settled into their fair home, I sat down and worked on my afghan while we waited to feed and water them for the evening. I finished it in there.

Two days later, we had to be at the fair super early for the lamb show. We were so nervous. This is Willow’s first year being old enough to show at the fair. It turns out that, like other shiny objects, Willow doesn’t like to share trophies. We were so proud when she won 1st and 2nd place in her class. We were blown away when she won Grand Champion and Reserve Champion!
big winner

She’s not the only one in the family who won 1st and 2nd place, either. Since I finished what is now my favorite of my afghans I’ve made, I decided to enter it in the fair. I figured I wouldn’t do well with the mistakes, but I just think it looks like a piece of art. I was allowed to enter two afghans, so I entered my Stained Glass Beauty. SGB won 1st place. SF won 2nd place.
win

Now we’re just looking forward to Saturday with the livestock auction, and I get to bring home my winners!

3 comments on “Afghan 12 – Summer Favorite

  1. fiveboysmom says:

    Congratulations! to you and Awesome Job to Willow!!!

    I have always nearly gagged looking at the picture in the book. I can’t imagine anyone liking this afghan the way the book presents it.

    Nice job making it your own!

  2. daniellajoe says:

    wow!!! congrats!!! and i love your version of the afghan the brighter the merrier.. 🙂

  3. Those are so beautiful! Your version is much more colorful and “my style” though 🙂 My grandmother makes beautiful afgans also, but I think she could even learn a thing or two from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

