He still talks to us. We just need to listen.

What a day I am having! I woke up to everything going wrong.

My husband’s papaw has been very sick. He is suffering from congestive heart failure. He’s not a candidate for open heart surgery. The doctors have been doing tests to see if he would be a candidate for a different procedure that might be able to fix a valve that is causing him problems. If he is able to go through with this procedure, he will probably be the second patient on whom these doctors perform it. The first one will be done late April.

Josh’s aunt has been staying with the grandparents during this. His mamaw has been dealing with health issues as well. This morning, Josh called me while on his way to work to ask if I would check on them some today. His aunt is going to be with his dad who is having part of his foot removed due to an infection made worse by diabetes.

I got the kids ready to go. We got in the car and found out that it wouldn’t start. I can call to check on people, but we’re worried. I really want to spend some time with these who are some of the most important people in our lives. My kids are named for these grandparents!

On top of the health stuff, I’m supposed to start clinicals tomorrow for my phlebotomy class. The clinic in which I will be working is about an hour’s drive away. If I am able to get my car started, is it going to happen again tomorrow and have me stranded out there?

Around noon things started to look better. My mom came in to town and let me borrow my granny’s car for a few days. She drove with us while we passed the kids’ newspapers. While we were doing that, I got a call from my teacher. There is a hospital that is half the distance from where I’d planned on going that I may be able to get in and do my clinical hours. I have to do some extra things to go to that one, but the amount of money I’ll save on gas will more than make up for the extras I’ll have to do.

While I was on the phone with my teacher, I got a text message. It was from my aunt. I mentioned her before in my post about the Plaid Winner afghan. She has been dealing with cancer. At that time I posted that some of the spots were gone. Today she let us know that the doctors have told her that there is a 95% chance it is all gone! They said they think 90% of it is from gall bladder problems. They can’t remove her gall bladder right now, because then they wouldn’t be able to continue chemotherapy. They want to continue that for 8 to 12 weeks to strengthen her bones. Her doctor is totally confused. He says he has been looking at the earlier scans and see that the cancer was there, but now it is just gone. He can’t explain it. We all know who has healed her.

If this isn’t God stepping in and reminding me not to worry, I don’t know what it is. I feel like He’s just saying, “Calm down. I’ve got this.” If anyone who reads this is dealing with anything too big for you, I hope you are able to draw some strength or whatever you need from my experiences. I know easyweimeraner‘s dad has been dealing with cancer of his own. It’s really scary when someone you love goes through something like this. Just try and keep your faith. When it pays off it is such a relief!

Leave a Reply

