Afghan 8 – Plaid Winner

Oh my goodness, what I crazy week I’ve had! I keep thinking I need to post this, but then get distracted by a million other things. This will probably end up being a super long post with a bunch of random, different thought in it. There is just so much I want to say.

First of all, I’ll tell you about the afghan I made this week. Plaid Winner is such a great afghan to make. Anyone who is just learning to crochet should be able to make it. That being said, of course I still made some mistakes! (My granny always says the mistake stitches have double the love in them.) The crochet part of it is very simple. When I got to the weaving part, it got a little troublesome. The pattern says to cut the strands of yarn 12 inches longer than the afghan for weaving. This was not near long enough. I ended up just guessing at the length. I’ll have to trim the strands to make them even, but I’m going to wash it first. I just hope there is enough length on some of those shorter pieces to make it at least look even.

Since it is a simple afghan done in two colors, this would make a great craft for a school fundraiser. I made mine in the colors of my high school, which also happen to be the colors of the Cincinnati Bengals. My family is full of Bengals fans, so it should make someone happy at Christmas time. It’s even a great size for taking to the stadium for some of those colder game days. I started out with some leftover black and pumpkin.plaid colors

The crochet part alone could have been done in a day, if I didn’t have all this other stuff happen. I know, I’m probably being irritating with that, but my brain was just as bad. I promise! Here’s how it looked before I started weaving in the yarn.preweave Even without weaving in the yarn it made a nice enough striped afghan.

The final project is really nice. I can just picture football moms cheering for their Fighting Tigers from the stands with afghans like these resting on their laps.Plaid Winner If any school wanted to sell these as a fundraiser, it would be simple to just use their school colors.

One of the things I have been wanting to post about is related to a previous post. I found out that one of the girls who competes in my daughter’s dance studio has a father who is a photographer. It turns out that we have a traveling photographer in our group! I feel so much better about not being able to get any good pictures from her competition. There is no way I would ever be able to get pictures as good as the ones he took. I asked him if it was okay if I posted the pictures he took of her on here, and he gave me permission! Now you’re just going to have to put up with the proud mommy stuff for a minute.
introductionThis one is in her costume from the group number. She was introducing herself. The rest are pictures from her dance.
toe

stretch

rosebudish

awesome
Beautiful pictures of my gorgeous daughter taken by a very talented man! He does amazing action photos of many of our dance events. I’m so thankful that he is a part of our dance family. You can see more of his work at his website: http://www.kaymagphotography.com/

One last thing! This is the big thing that had me completely lose my mind. Back in October I learned that one of my aunt’s was battling cancer. Her doctor found a spot in her lung and on her sacrum. She has been going through treatment for this since then. She has a few more spots, but those original two were the worst. Thursday, while I was sitting at a red light, I got a text from her. I read it. When the light turned green I had to pull my car over to the side. I told my kids they needed to start praying. At that point I started crying and couldn’t finish talking. I saw the look of fear in my children’s eyes and quickly caught my breath to tell them about the message. I told them we need to thank God for helping to heal our aunt. Her text told me that the original spot is GONE!!!! The spot on her sacrum is smaller and no longer considered cancerous! There are still some adrenal carcinomas in some lymph nodes in her lungs, but we can see such an improvement. After hearing the original prognosis, I know that this is nothing short of a miracle. (Even now I am struggling not to cry. I can’t remember the last time I was so happy about something.) God really does have His hand on her.

2 comments on “Afghan 8 – Plaid Winner

  1. All my best wishes to your aunt and I hope she will beat the cancer. Your daughter is absolutely wonderful ;o) and I love the pumpkin-color – is looks great!!!

  2. fiveboysmom says:

    I’m crying as well. Our God is so awesome! Congratulations to your aunt on her healing. I’ll keep her in my prayers.

    Thank you for sharing the pictures of your daughter’s dance. She looks to be really enjoying herself.

    Great job on the afghan. I made one in my high school colors (red and white) as a gift for one of my disabled son’s paras to use at her son’s football games. He just missed the NFL draft last year. Her daughter is playing in our state high school basketball championship tournament this week.

Leave a Reply

