Derby Day

This is pretty much completely unrelated to my regular posts. Today we went to our Cub Scout pack’s Pinewood Derby race. My son is a Wolf Cub. My husband gets a little excited about the Pinewood Derby, too.

derby carsThese are my boys’ cars. My husband is one of those people who loves the gross zombie stuff, so he made his car to reflect that. My darling seven year old is a bit of a Whovian. He had to have the T.A.R.D.I.S. on his car. I think it turned out pretty cute. He’s really proud of it.

picking up 1st placeOf course he did quite well. The T.A.R.D.I.S. is made for time travel, so maybe that was cheating. 😉

race viewI had a pretty good view of the races. Between taking pictures and watching my baby, yes, I was crocheting.

trophyOut of 4 races, Jarrett won two 1st places and two 2nd places. Overall he earned 2nd place in Wolves and gets to go on to districts.

Later this evening I will be driving to where my daughter is competing for Junior Miss Dance. Today is full of interviews and rehearsals for her. Tomorrow she will be performing. It’s kind of tough when both kids have big activities on the same day and it takes a couple of hours to drive between the two. At least when we get to the next competition Jarrett has plans in the same place. DanceMasters will be held in the same building, at the same time, as a toy and comic book convention. There is a lot of free time that weekend, so we’ll get to do both! I even have a friend who has built a Dalek and will be taking it to the convention. I can’t wait to see what Jarrett thinks of it when he sees it in person! Willow even acted interested in it when she saw the pictures.

One comment on “Derby Day

  1. daniellajoe says:

    Congrats Jarred!!!! Wow!!!

Leave a Reply

