Week 7 – Valentine Afghan

Well, duh, I’m going to make the Valentine Afghan this week! I probably should have been finishing it today, since today is Valentine’s Day, but I just can’t follow rules.

This is one of the afghans I have memorized. It is what I make for those I love as a wedding gift. To choose the color, I always ask the intended recipient what color to make it. This time I am making it for one of my cousins. He and his wife were married Christmas 2011, but I just haven’t had the chance to make it, yet. They live far enough away from me that they have to excuse my tardiness in gift giving.

I asked them what their favorite color was. The reply I got was black and pink. This afghan is typically done in one color. Since they chose two colors, and I’ve done this one so many times, I simply though, “Challenge accepted!” The Valentine Afghan is made with popcorn stitches making out heart shapes and framing them. I am doing a background color of Red Heart’s Petal Pink with black popcorn stitches.
Valentine yarn The Petal Pink has that ballet pink look to it. When I was in dance classes, we were supposed to wear black and pink to class. This makes me think of those days.

I wasn’t sure how it would work out. I thought I might try it and rip it out and go back to just do pink. Carrying the black over behind pink is pretty tricky. You can see the black that is being carried over, but I think the overall look will be worth it. I’m getting pretty excited about my little experiment I’m doing on an old favorite. Here’s what I’ve got so far:popcorn preview

I can’t wait to get to the hearts and see how they turn out!

2 comments on “Week 7 – Valentine Afghan

  1. fiveboysmom says:

    Looks good. I made this one once in burgundy–it took me a week and a half and I was half done before I figured out what I was doing with all those popcorn and chain stitches. Can’t wait to see your results with this one.

  2. daniellajoe says:

    I have a feeling it’s going to be pretty, I think the black brings out the beautiful pink 🙂

Leave a Reply

