Week 3 – Precious in Pink

This has been a very trying week as far as getting any crocheting done. On the bright side, I should probably finish next week’s afghan this evening or tomorrow morning.

Caron Mint
Is it wrong that I chose to make an afghan whose name says it is pink with green yarn? Maybe, but that’s what I did. Out of six babies I know who have been born in the past year one is a girl. It’s just a safer bet to use a neutral color when making a baby afghan just for fun, with no specific plans on to whom I will be gifting it. I did think I would be giving it to a baby who was born the week before last, but when my plans were changed due to not having enough yarn, I got a better idea which I’ll tell you about with next week’s afghan.

Anyway, I used Caron’s One Pound Baby yarn in Mint. I was supposed to use worsted weight, but since this afghan goes by the number of rounds instead of a certain measurement, I figured it would be okay to use this. I was wrong. Although this is a slightly lighter weight yarn, I ran out of yarn with just two rounds left to do. I think I have fussed enough about that already.

The first skein of this that I bought was $5.97. When the same store finally got one skein back in stock, it was $7.44. The total cost of this afghan was $14.21 with tax.

Precious in Mint

Precious in Mint

It turned out nice. The only thing I really don’t like about this is the beginning. I’ve never made an afghan that started the way this one did. It has a string of yarn loose in the middle that I need to weave into it. I hate weaving in yarn. This one has nowhere to do it properly that I can see, so it’s probably going to look a little funky.

3 comments on “Week 3 – Precious in Pink

  1. fiveboysmom says:

    I love it! I don’t really like pink at all so I rarely make anything in pink. I think the last pink thing was a baby afghan for my great-niece. Her mother was determined to do the entire nursery in pink. Blech! She said it was the only way she’d ever get my nephew to let her paint a room in the house pink. I don’t see that as a problem, but….

    I wonder why in the world the price jumped that much?

    When I do an afghan in the round, I usually work the end in as I do the first round. But it depends on the stitch whether I can work an end in successfully or not.

    Good job!

  2. knitwit1980 says:

    I’m not much of a pink person, either. My family is obsessed with giving baby girls pink stuff. When I had my daughter’s baby shower you would have thought some Pepto Bismol had exploded in there!

    I usually work the end in on my crochet. This one was just weird! It started by having you wrap the yarn around your finger and after a few stitches in the ring you pull the string tight. By then it was too awkward for me to pull the string into it. Maybe if I try this technique a couple more times I’ll figure it out. This was my first attempt at it.

  3. fiveboysmom says:

    Now that you mention it, I think I looked at this one once and saw that the directions called for you to do that and I was thinking…you do…what????

    Funny you should mention Pepto-Bismol. My husband hates pink because that was his mother’s answer to what ails you when he was growing up.

Leave a Reply

