No Resolutions, Just a Challenge

I’m not the New Year’s resolution type.  Does anyone ever stick to those?  Since I don’t make resolutions, I decided to challenge myself this year.

I have loved crocheting for most of my life.  My granny taught me to crochet when I was around six years old.  For the longest time I could do nothing but chains.  My sister and I would make chains and use them as jump ropes.  When I was in college, I had several lecture classes.  That was when I really got hooked!  (If you crochet, you can totally appreciate my pun.)

My granny gave me several patterns.  One book has been my favorite.  It is from Leisure Arts and is titled Afghans for All Seasons.  Over the years, I have had several copies of this book.  The first was destroyed by my dog.  The second was lost while moving.  The third was also eaten by my dog. (Aren’t Labradors great?)  The fourth one was lost when I took it to work to crochet in the office.  (If you think I need to get my priorities straight because I’m crocheting when I should be focusing on other things, just wait until you see how ridiculous I can be.)  By the time I lost the fourth copy, the book had been in circulation for years.  When I went to look for my fifth copy in stores, I couldn’t find it.  When I was at the last of the local stores that might carry the book, I realized I had a problem.  As I searched over and over through their books not seeing the one I needed, I got a lump in my throat and had to fight back tears.  No, I did not cry in public, but I did come way too close to crying over a book.  Yes, I’m just a crazy hooker.  

My husband is terrible at surprising me with gifts.  He has to ask me what I want and always gives it away before it’s time.  For our 2012 Christmas, I found my book on-line.  It was on clearance, so I knew I would have to get it soon or possibly lose it forever.  I brought up the page and said, “This is what I want for Christmas.”  Since I have the greatest husband in the world, I got my book for Christmas.  When it arrived at the house, I couldn’t help but pet the shiny cover for a while.  I was so happy!

I even decided to sit and read the introduction to the book instead of just using it for the patterns.  It was like an old friend I had thought was gone forever had come back to me.  We had to get reacquainted and let each other know how much we appreciate each other.  (I’m sure the book appreciates me bringing its patterns to life.)  The book has 52 patterns in it.  It is intended for a person to be able to make one afghan each week.  This is what gave me the idea to make 52 afghans in 52 weeks.

There are only a few of the afghans that I have actually made.  One of them I’ve made so many times that I now make it from memory.  I use it as a wedding gift.  There are others that I have really wanted to make, but I just feel guilty spending the money on yarn for myself.  Now I am going to have to get the yarn.  I went so far as to start a blog, and I know I will not hear the end of it if I don’t follow through.

 http://www.leisurearts.com/products/afghans-for-all-seasons.html

3 comments on “No Resolutions, Just a Challenge

  1. Leda Hopkins Mack says:

    Good luck with the afghans. I hope you post pictures as you complete each one..

  2. fiveboysmom says:

    I LOVE that book! I have several I can do from memory as well. However, I disdain sewing pieces together so I’ve never seriously considered doing this. I will be following your progress. Good luck, break a leg, but don’t ruin a hook.

Leave a Reply

